16
Feb
11

[single] Kalafina – Magia (2011.02.16)

Here I come. The most hyped up single of Kalafina even before its release. Does it live up to the hype?

Kalafina – Magia
Release date: February 16, 2011

Kalafina - Magia all types (because I'm too lazy to upload one by one 8D *is shot*)

Tracklist
Regular & Limited edition:
1. Magia
2. snow falling
3. Magia (instrumental)

Anime Edition:
1. Magia
2. Magia ~Magic mix~
3. Magia ~TV version~
4. Magia ~Instrumental~

Started with Magia the titular track. I was already in love with this song ever since I heard its 5s preview on Madoka Magica’s CM5. The preview was extremely short but already showed its force power and intensity and it captivated me immediately. As I heard the full version I was like… “WHOA, so grim dark and a song full of despair”. As Kalafina girls said on interview about how realistic the lyrics was, I couldn’t agree more. This is the first Kalafina song lyrics that I’m actually able to understand (at least a bit) without looking at the translation. Simple-yet-meaningful words, not as poetic as how Kajiura’s lyrics tend to be. On the instrumental side, the drumming in Magia is very deep and heavy like no other Kalafina songs has ever had. I’m not really fond of the guitar solo on the bridge as it sounds kinda synthesized due to the guitar effect used. Anyway, if there’s a highlight of the song, it would be the bridge, where Keiko sang. It was like a light from dark sky, giving hope as we listen to it yet crushed soon as the chorus back, but in the end the hope keeps living inside our heart. Overall, this song is very strong, forceful, intense and fierce.

Now we move on to the coupling track, snow falling. In contrary to Magia, which is very dark and leaves us with almost no hope, snow falling comes bringing light and hope. A beautiful slow ballad, calm and peaceful yet it has sadness and loneliness in it. The flow in the song is very smooth, building emotion within each stanzas. Very touching song. I really love how gentle Hikaru’s voice has become in this song and how fragile and painful Wakana’s voice sounds. As for Keiko, her gentle voice is so relaxing and loveable. Everytime I listen to this song at night, I close my eyes and I can imagine how they can make PV of it: Kalafina girls in furry white coats within a world colored white by falling snow. And sitting on bench. Yes, it should have any family of chair like almost all Kalafina PV up to date. *grins*

And while we’re on topic, I should mention the remix version of Magia, Magia magic mix. While it’s called remix, the whole track is largely similar. The most significant change is, of course, the strings dominance. The interlude between first and last chorus is filled with strings, including a very disturbing and chaotic violin solo. To fit the world of Madoka Magica, I guess? Not really impressive, honestly. Sounds rather messy and annoying on ear. Furthermore, the epic bridge, as well as second verse and chorus, is omitted. What? Gimme back my bridge of hope!! TAT

This Magia single is certainly hyped up by its tie-up to the anime Puella Magia Madoka Magica and the titular track’s vibe for being an entirely different experience than other Kalafina songs up to date. Accompanied by a calm ballad like snow falling, it’s almost like Heaven and Hell within a world, combined in the greatest way. It’s very well-balanced for your emotion. *giggles* Just FYI, when you’re in bad mood, don’t listen to Magia because it might worsen your already-bad mood. ^^;; Listen to snow falling instead as it will calm you down.

End of words, does it live up to the hype? Yes, it does. In the greatest way, too. Thank you, Kalafina. Thank you, Yuki Kajiura. With this kind of single, I have no regret buying my first (and most probably last) single to be added to my collection.

6 Responses to “[single] Kalafina – Magia (2011.02.16)”


  1. 1 winter
    February 17, 2011 at 12:45 AM

    Yeah, I agree that snow falling and Magia couldn’t be more different! I love the bridge of hope as well, especially the line “I believed the fairy tales that taught us that wishes would surely come true.”

    I really like the magic mix (grating violin solo included, lol). I think it’s a bit more condensed and so it’s more intense.

    Hope you receive your copy of the single soon!

  2. February 21, 2011 at 9:50 AM

    haven’t heard the full version, but as for me, I think Magia is weaker than most of tracks from Red Moon…

  3. 3 Moonie-chan
    February 25, 2011 at 8:57 PM

    “Just FYI, when you’re in bad mood, don’t listen to Magia because it might worsen your already-bad mood. ^^;; Listen to snow falling instead as it will calm you down.”

    ~Wahahaha, I tried playing Magia when I was in a bad mood… like, out of life, bored and feeling a little irritated mood, and what happened is actually me losing my mind… O_O not in a bad and violent way, I guess… but I did started singing while doing some rock star gestures (e.g. – Head bang, hair whip and random punches to the air) and started becoming hyper… Super hyper… =_= and in another time, I played Magia and I felt my mind getting more messed up, so stressed and somehow more and more irritated… So yeah.. I agree.. no Magia when in bad mood… it turns people insane.. XD

    “With this kind of single, I have no regret buying my first (and most probably last) single to be added to my collection.”
    What do you mean by “most probably last”? You won’t buy any more in the future? Or you believe in the rumors of the world ending in 2012? ~XD

  4. February 26, 2011 at 1:13 AM

    @Moonie-chan: Usually I don’t buy singles to save money for DVDs and albums because single is quite expensive. :3

  5. 5 Moonie-chan
    February 27, 2011 at 10:35 PM

    @Yuki88 – Oh! I should’ve noticed the word “single”… then I should’ve known… =_= LOL..


Leave a Reply

Calendar

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Archives

Categories

My Tweets

Blog Stats

  • 120,264 hits

