24
Aug
15

The Underwater Conductivity

The music videos from AKB48’s election single Halloween Night have been leaked here and there. I have no interest in any of the video that is not Next Girls’ Mizu no Naka no Dendouritsu for obvious reason (CHIHIRO CENTER SONG YAY) so I had to watch it as soon as I could.

Mizu no Naka no Dendouritsu

The Underwater Conductivity – THE PLOT!

It turns out to be a huge fanservice festival with water, wet-look, and girlxgirl skinship. However, I felt that the fanservices might have hidden the little story the MV has. Let me explain it.

First, as we can see in the first verse, we have the scene of Miru strangling Chihiro. Out of nowhere. When everyone else was busy having skinship with each other, including Chihiro and Miru, that scene suddenly emerged. The question is, why?

The "Miru strangles Chihiro" scene

The “Miru strangles Chihiro” scene

Then comes the second chorus of the song. The scenes where everyone switched partners. We could see some of them willingly leave their partners for others, some reluctantly.

SwitchingPartners1

Mion reluctantly places her arm on Okapan, who wasted no time to rest hers on Mio’s waist

SwitchingPartners2

Fuuchan and Nakki choosing each other immediately

SwitchingPartners3

Keicchi and reluctant Harutamu

SwitchingPartners14

Miyamae who couldn’t let her eyes off whoever her partner was with Tano staring at her

But here’s the point. On this part, we had this scene of Chihiro, being partnered with Reinyan instead of Miru, looking somewhere else not Reinyan before she closed her eyes as if she was resigned to something that she saw.

Chihiro looking somewhere else not Reinyan

Chihiro looking somewhere else not Reinyan

...Then she closed her eyes as if accepting/denying what happens in front of her eyes

…Then she closed her eyes as if accepting/denying what happens in front of her eyes

THEN COMES THE BRIDGE AND EVERYONE GOING ON DEBAUCHERY!! *is whacked*

Submerging for a kiss

Submerging for a kiss

Didn't see Tano and Keicchi coming

Didn’t see Tano and Keicchi coming at all

They switch partner so many times

They switch partner so many times

AND THE KISSING SCENE BETWEEN CHIHIRO AND REINYAN! The smile on Reinyan’s face before the kiss, it was as if she was tainting Chihiro (remember that Chihiro’s dress is white).

The unsettling smile

The unsettling smile

When they look at each other before they...

When they look at each other with a smile before they…

KISS!

KISS!

And right after that scene, we were shown the linked hands of Chihiro and Miru was released, then we were taken back to the strangling scene! What a plot twist!

"Even though I love you so much..."

“Even though I love you so much…”

"...I can't"

“…I can’t”

"I'm sorry."

“I’m sorry.”

My idea is that Miru was jealous of Reinyan kissing Chihiro, and Chihiro doing nothing to prevent it (and seemingly enjoyed it as well). Miru was so jealous that she tried to strangle Chihiro but she couldn’t bring herself to, especially when Chihiro stopped her with her hands.

"You don't want to kill me, do you."

“You don’t want to kill me, do you.”

Then we jumped to the ending scene where Chihiro seemed rather dejected and resigned to her fate that Miru was probably leaving her until we saw someone’s hand raising her face back.

Chihiro looking resigned to her fate

Chihiro looking resigned to her fate

" But I can't leave you..."

” But I can’t leave you…”

Then the scene was changed to the hands of Chihiro and Miru once again. It was made as if Chihiro waited for Miru to accept her back into her life and Miru, albeit hesitantly, was grabbing Chihiro’s hand again when the screen was blackened.

"Hold my hand. Please..."

“Hold my hand. Please…”

"...Sure."

“…Sure.”

Phew. That was longer than I thought it could be. Now that I have explained it like this, I wonder if you understand what I meant to say? lol.

Anyway, you should watch the MV yourself and enjoy the fanservice it has and see it yourself if my explanation fits. Thank you for whoever Chinese overlord uploaded this to youku lol.


Leave a comment


Calendar

August 2015
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 126,773 hits